“The Island of Roses and Love”

As our show “Reordered” comes to a close this week, I was able for the first time to take a breath and look closely at the carefully crafted work of Lisa Beaman and Randall Reid. Lisa’s work often features figures, animals, plants, and focuses more clearly on narratives. Randall’s work is often more minimal, with details including numbers, one or two words, but primarily focuses on color and line. While walking through the show, time and time again I caught myself thinking about my childhood, my friends, and how freely my imagination once roamed.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 3.04.59 PM

“Twister,” 30″ x 18″

This image of Lisa’s in particular struck me. It’s use of language and poetry brought me back to memories of Cape Cod when I was a kid, “Red sails in the sunset,” a line reads. Another line reads, “Shine on harvest moon,” a reminder of the fall in Massachusetts, my home state. “The Island of Roses and Love” didn’t necessarily remind me of anything, but instead gave me the opportunity to construct personal story lines out of thin air. Fittingly, all of these lines were wrapped up in this “Twister.”

 

1626_Off_White_8.75x8.5x2

“Off White,” 8 3/8″ x 8 3/4″

Randall Reid’s image titled “Off White” reminded me instantly of my father. In this piece, Randall uses re-salvaged wood, simply composed inside his trademark metal frames. I imagined myself working together with my dad on a walkway we made together that wraps around my house. I can still feel the gnats that came out at dusk, mercilessly biting at us while we finished the project in mid-summer.

For me, these moments make Lisa and Randall’s work great.
If you aren’t convinced, take a look for yourself at some of their other work:

Beaman_FlightOfFancy_8x8 (1)

“Flight of Fancy,” 8″ x 8″

Beaman_TargetPractice_

“Target Practice,” 39″ x 29″

Beaman_TipTheScales_22x22

“Tip the Scales,” 22″ x 22″

1494_Sun_Spots_6x6x2-2

“Sun Spots,” 6″ x 6″

1531_Equipment_5x4.25x2

“Equipment,” 5″ x 4.25″

1067_Green_Fields_13x13x2

“Green Fields,” 13″ x 13″

One thought on ““The Island of Roses and Love”

Leave a Reply

